About

P1040279

Hi everyone! I’m so thrilled you’ve stopped by the blog! I’m Hannah, a 25-year-old American who has relocated back to her hometown of D.C. I’m perpetually clumsy (seriously, I should win awards) and sometimes it seems like I break everything I touch (fingers crossed – the blog has survived thus far), but I live on travel and seeing new places and I hope that rubs off on you too.

I’ve lived in six countries and I won’t lie, it still feels weird to be back in the US. I think it’s totally possible to see the world and travel as much as your heart desires – even while working full time! So many people think that’s impossible but it really isn’t. If you’re smart with vacation days and holidays, you can take some pretty amazing trips throughout the year.

That’s why I focus a lot on weekend trips and how to get the most out of a destination in a short period of time. Just because you’ve got little time doesn’t mean you can’t have incredible experiences. If I had that mentality – I’d get nowhere! (No, seriously, I’m already the worst at making decisions so I would literally get nowhere.)

My house! LOL just kidding. I wish. I’m in France. 🇫🇷

So what made me want to start traveling? Pretty much the second I studied abroad in Belgium! I fell in love with other cultures and seeing new things and once you get a taste of that, there’s really no going back.

I absolutely love connecting with readers and other bloggers, so if you have any questions or just want to chat, shoot me an email at info@universaljetsetters.com! Don’t forget to follow me on any of the platforms to the right.

Are you new? Start here!

The Girl Behind The Keyboard
Why Terrorism Won’t Stop Me From Traveling
24 Things I’ve Learned In 24 Years
Why It’s Normal To Long For Places You Didn’t Live For Long
5 Tips for First Time Travelers
How to Find Cheap Flights in the US

Want to keep reading? These are some of my most popular posts!

40 Ways to Afford to Travel
How to Pack for a Week in a Carry On
20 Things to Know Before Visiting Australia
How I Overcame My Fear of Flying and You Can Too

guinness brewery
Poured the perfect pint in the Guinness brewery, Dublin

Some More Facts About Me

Hometown: Bethesda, MD (A suburb of Washington, DC)
Currently Living In: D.C.
Age: 25
How Many Countries I Have Lived In: 6 (US, Belgium, Netherlands, Australia, UK, and Germany)
How Many Countries I Have Visited: 36
Favorite Trip: Probably Bangkok, but closely followed by The Great Ocean Road or our New Zealand road trip (it’s too hard to choose!).
Favorite Foods: Tikka Masala (or all Indian food) and definitely coffee. ☕️ Does wine also count?
What Did I Study: Journalism and political science
Do I Have Pets: I wish! I’m a huge dog-lover, but it just isn’t practical right now.
Longest Trip: An Asia trip that was two weeks long. I visited Indonesia (Ubud, Denpasar, Banyuwangi and Jakarta), Kuala Lumpur and Singapore.
Country I Most Want To Visit: There are so many, but I’d have to narrow it down to Vietnam and Cambodia. Angkor Wat is basically my dream trip.
Budget or Luxury Travel: It depends, usually somewhere in between. I don’t spend unnecessary amounts of money, but I know a good deal when I see one, even if it costs more.
Favorite Book: The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah (it’s such a moving story!)
Comfort or Fashion: Almost always comfort but I do like to look nice! You’re unlikely to find me traveling in a sweatshirt.
Fun Facts: I rode horses for over 10 years, a few years competitively. Haven’t as much since I graduated college. I’ve broken two bones, a wrist while horseback riding, and a foot while running. I love Christmas but I’ve always been terrified of the Easter bunny.

Lake St. Clair, Tasmania

Thanks so much again for taking the time to look through the site and enjoy!